Cisco ASA 5512-X - Throughput Question

I work in a school and we need to reconfigure an old Cisco ASA 5512-X for routing and firewall purposes. Despite the ASA having 1GbE ports, it's throughput is limited depending on what it is doing. According to Cisco's specifications, it's throughput for different services are:

ASA IPS throughput:250 Mbps (extra hardware not required)

Next-generation firewall throughput (multiprotocol):200 Mbps

Triple Data Encryption Standard/Advanced Encryption Standard (3DE/AES) VPN thoughput:200 Mbps

We have a 200Mb up/200Mb down Internet connection and do perform web-filtering (performed on a separate device) that decrypts, inspects and re-encypts the data on the fly.

I want the ASA configured purely as a router and firewall so that only certain required ports are open and others can be configured if/when required.

My question: Is this ASA actually going to throttle the connection to 200Mbs, rather than the combined 400Mbs we receive?

• Like 1

looking at the spec sheet

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/security/asa-5500-series-next-generation-firewalls/datasheet-c78-733916.html

You can see that its "stateful" throughput is listed as 500mbps for stuff like tcp.. Read the the notes for 2, the max is note one which says only UDP traffic.

5512specs.thumb.png.717873ddff27266d22a8072d8608f0b4.png

So if your not going to use any of its other higher end features - and just as a stateful firewall.. Then it should be able to handle your 200/200 connection.  Which doesn't equal 400 btw ;)  Its 200 down and 200 up.. ;)

• Like 2

25 minutes ago, BudMan said:

looking at the spec sheet

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/security/asa-5500-series-next-generation-firewalls/datasheet-c78-733916.html

You can see that its "stateful" throughput is listed as 500mbps for stuff like tcp.. Read the the notes for 2, the max is note one which says only UDP traffic.