• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

Win10 GSOD - RDR_File_System mrxsmb.sys

Sulphy    1,436

Hey all,

Wondering if anyone else is getting this error, and not much help from MSFT!

Domain joined laptop, only when external to the network, when i login after a reboot using my normal domain account, i get a GSOD, Stop Code: RDR_FILE_SYSTEM, what failed: mrxsmb.sys.

Work around (works most of the time) login to my laptop as domain admin (yes, i am a domain admin :) ) , logon to the corp VPN, switch user, and login using normal creds.... it is annoying as hell! 

Again, this only happens if i happen to reboot my laptop. Havent gotten much out of the event logs, or not much help from MSFT!

Hoping someone else has had the same issue!

System specs (before someone asks :) )

Lenovo X1 Carbon (6th gen)

Windows 10 (1903 bld 18885)

This started happening out of the blue around 8 months ago. Multiple rebuilds, on standard, slow, fast and preview rings ... am about to format and rebuild, again with the official VLSC 1903 release from a week or so ago!

adrynalyne    11,269
Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Sulphy said:

Hey all,

Wondering if anyone else is getting this error, and not much help from MSFT!

Domain joined laptop, only when external to the network, when i login after a reboot using my normal domain account, i get a GSOD, Stop Code: RDR_FILE_SYSTEM, what failed: mrxsmb.sys.

Work around (works most of the time) login to my laptop as domain admin (yes, i am a domain admin :) ) , logon to the corp VPN, switch user, and login using normal creds.... it is annoying as hell! 

Again, this only happens if i happen to reboot my laptop. Havent gotten much out of the event logs, or not much help from MSFT!

Hoping someone else has had the same issue!

System specs (before someone asks :) )

Lenovo X1 Carbon (6th gen)

Windows 10 (1903 bld 18885)