• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

    Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

Deleting a file on a network share permanently deletes it?

Recommended Posts

+Elliot B.    1,530

I have my photos stored on my second PC, which I use as a server.

 

I share the Photos folder via. a standard Windows 10 network share.

 

If I browser the Photos folder from my primary PC and delete a photo, it doesn't go to the Recycle Bin on either computer - it appears to permanently delete the file.

 

Any idea how I can stop this behavior?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
+Human.Online    8,294

That's normal behaviour over a network share.  You're deleting the file via share, not via local filesystem, so it doesn't have access to the local recycle bin.

 

Don't delete files over the share.

 

Let me clarify something: What you delete a file locally on Windows it deletes it.  When you move a file to the recycle bin, it does that.  The confusion here is that the move to recycle bin has been referred to as deleting.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.