Certifications vs Degree?

RolloofTheNorm

This thread may not get any replies, but here goes nothing. So lately I've been thinking about getting a few certifications on the side while in college, Since I'm a newbie the certification (s) I was looking at is Comptia, but I mainly want to developing or devops if you may. I was wondering what certification is a good route for that? Is comptia good for entry level starting out? 

+Fahim S.

Certs and degrees are a good way to get a foot in the door, as they show the ability and aptitude to learn, but in the grand scheme real experience is worth so much more.

For an experienced hire, I won't look at what certs and degrees a candidate has, just their ability to competently speak about a subject as well as the passion they show as they do.

RolloofTheNorm

Well the thing is that I dont have the experience which is why I want a cert for something entry level if that makes sense. 

+Fahim S.

Absolutely makes sense, and I did say they are good to get your foot into the door.  I would do just enough to get a position, but then focus on experience after that.

What language are you using in college? what sort of development do you want to do?

• Like 1
RolloofTheNorm

So far I'm doing python and I want to do cloud developing. 

adrynalyne
1 minute ago, RolloofTheNorm said:

So far I'm doing python and I want to do cloud developing. 

Comptia is a waste of time then. 

At best you might want security+ for clearance but even then...

Look at developer specific certs. 

shockz

You’ll get all sorts of different responses. 

For me my degree got my foot in the door, but for any other job I’ve had in the last 15 years since (yikes), nobody has ever asked for it. Outside of it looking fancy on a resume, it doesn’t do much else, except collect dust in a file cabinet.