Linux Mint 20 Lock screen wont ask password

Hi everyone. I have been using Linux on and off since the early 90s so I am not a novice user. Decided to give linux another try and I got everything up and running including graphics this time and I thought my dream come true that could finally use Linux as my main OS. Linux has come a long ways but one big problem.

When I attempt to lock the screen it on resume it does not ask for password. I sent into the settings and made sure their is a password of coarse and I also checked the box to lock immediately and all that basic good stuff that is on default but I just double checked it anyways.

I have to leave my computer frequently sometimes and I need it to be able to lock . I know technically I could just " log out" then have to re-login and etc a simple thing such as lock screen should be able to work in 2022.  Anyone know why? It is a simple thing but a big issue and hopefully can get it fixed otherwise have to ditch Linux again and will give it another shot in a few years . Spent hours setting it up only to have a glitch like this :(

I have wasted tons of time searching online and nothing else comes up.

Thanks in advance.

First, the Lock Screen functionality works regardless of desktop environment (DE) you may be using.  CTRL+L is the keyboard shortcut to activate it.

Second, log into the IRC channels offered by Linux Mint distros -- there's ample persons able to help troubleshoot based on your specs (and sometimes I'm in there helping, too).

^ I doin't think he ever says he's on Mint..

I also do not know what DE you are using, but there should be a "system settings" option for locking the screen.

Thank you for the responses. Sorry for slow reply had to work tons of OT the last few days.