XP, Atapi error event ID 9

I've been using this computer at work for about 7 months now with no changes in hardware, and all of a sudden yesterday my computer started pausing intermittently for about 0.5 seconds every 3-5 seconds.

The Event Viewer says this:

Event Type:	Error
Event Source:	atapi
Event Category:	None
Event ID:	9
Date:  5/12/2004
Time:  9:19:49 AM
User:  N/A
Computer:	DESIGN1
Description:
The device, \Device\Ide\IdePort1, did not respond within the timeout period.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 0f 00 10 00 01 00 64 00   ......d.
0008: 00 00 00 00 09 00 04 c0   .......?
0010: 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 00   ........
0018: 18 19 00 00 00 00 00 00   ........
0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00   ........
0028: 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00   ........
0030: 00 00 00 00 07 00 00 00   ........

Out of all the googling and M$ searching.. all I can find is that it's a problem with a cd drive and usually happens when there is bad media in the drive... I haven't put a cd in either of the two drives in there for a few weeks and I'm getting this error...

When I reboot - the system seems fine for a while, then out of the blue it just starts doing the interval pausing, where the mouse stops - audio stops (keeps same sound for whole pause period).. its just weird. I could understand if I just installed the drive or made changes or something.. but what the heck?

Can anybody else lend some insight on this? thanks...

I think i MAY have fixed it... though I want to know if anybody knows what PIO only mode is in device manager.

Went into Device Manager

Then IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers

Then Changed Device 1 to "PIO Only" mode instead of "DMA if available"

after a reboot is seems to be fine for a while now...

So what did I change?

• 3 months later...