Keep me in your thoughts.

Have you not installed Linux before?

Most people worry about the installation, when it usually goes very well.

But have a backup. ;) Just in case. :shifty:

Good luck, I hope your HDD doesn't get messed up ;)

I'm backingup everything that is remotely useful and I want to keep right now. :D

Have you not installed Linux before?

Most people worry about the installation, when it usually goes very well.

But have a backup. ;) Just in case. :shifty:

It's my first time "flying alone". I hope that Mandrake 10 is the better choice.

,Jun 1 2004, 20:25] It's my first time "flying alone". I hope that Mandrake 10 is the better choice.

Even if I disagreed, it would be awful inconsiderate of me to start listing "better" distros. :p

Best wishes!

Even if I disagreed, it would be awful inconsiderate of me to start listing "better" distros. :p

Best wishes!

See you on the other side. :|

:o

Mandrake is easier than Windows to install. You should be fine.

Easier to install the main OS yes but to install it, drivers and such to fully operational state no.

You can't say it's easier to compile anything than to double click it, even if you are a gentoo emerge freak.

Easier to install the main OS yes but to install it, drivers and such to fully operational state no.

You can't say it's easier to compile anything than to double click it, even if you are a gentoo emerge freak.

That is argueable...

WIth XP, my USB Wifi didn't work, and I needed to install a USB WiFi that Linux used right out of the box.

I would have needed to add back in Office (if it weren't my 9-year old's PC).

A modern Linux distro is amazingly complete. (Y)

,Jun 1 2004, 20:32] Ok. :p Fedora Core 2 or Mandrake 10?

I cut my teeth on RedHat 5.1 (bought the box at a store), so I am biased towards Fedora

Both are good distros.

Mandrake is easier than Windows to install.  You should be fine.