slakware

I've been wonderin for a whle now why so many people hate slackware and so many say it's a hard distro to set up and use. I've fond it the second esiest distro I've ever tried (that's a LOT of dstros) to set up and use. Jamd was the easiest (RIP) but even then I still prefer slack. It's installer is straight forward and has different options to choose from depending on your comfort with linux. It's not a graphical installer, but in my opinion it's easier than weeding though a bunch of crappy graphics tring to figure out how to install.

Can any of you slack hatrs gie me good reasons why you don't like slack r find it so hard?

I don't hate any Linux distro (including Linspire, which does have some good points for total noobs).

I have never tried Slack, but assume it is no more difficult than a Debian install.

Who are the 'haters', so we can gang up on them? :shifty:

P.S. I don't hate Windows, either, for the record. I just don't use it at home.

I hate Slackware becuase every machine I've attempted to install it on never worked properly. The first reboot would always result in a kernel panic. I don't get it, I can install Gentoo blind-folded, but Slackware, it just doesn't work for me.

umm slack haters are from noobville and the are scared when they cant do anything when there is no mouse on screen.

i love slackware i am in damn love with it .

584915238[/snapback]

That is quite a sweeping statement.

But anyway for me , I am no way a "noob" ( damm I hate that term) Slackware and Gentoo and such like are just plain to labour intensive.

I like a distro that I can get loaded and running in 40 minutes or less. My current distro of choice is Ubuntu ,30 minutes and its running .

Make em simple , less is more

Erm...yeah. For the record, I can get slack up and running easy in 25 minutes. It takes a mere 7 minutes (est. but max) to get Arch up and running from a CD install.