Information Technology vs. Computer Science

Ok, so I'm going back to school. Well, going to school really. I want to get into the computer field, since it's really all I've been doing for the past 6 years, and you would think that I would know the answer to this, but I don't. From my understanding, CS is more about theory, where as IT is more about useage, hands on type of stuff. CS is more about programming, right? As much as I wouldn't mind sitting behing a computer and getting paid to program, they are a dime a dozen in today's work field. IT is starting to get that way, but it's still a good area to get into, at least where I live.

So, if anyone could clarify for me, the major differences, that would be great.

And to get you guys an idea on what I would like to do in the future, I would like to get into large scale processing, working with data centers, and being an administrator for a large scale network. Something along those lines. Dream is to work/admin a data center.

Any answers/links would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to PM me, or email me at sethrd{at}gmail.com.

Thanks ahead of time guys.

Nicely stated. A little more detail..

Comp Sci = Programming. Understanding exactly how computers work at their lowest level, logic, and mathematical theories. (Creating computer programs)

IT = Networking and computer/server management, maintance, and repair. (Using computer programs + configuring hardware)

A Comp Sci person can usually perform the activites of an IT person.

An IT person can usually not write applications, just some scripts.

To oversimplify:

Computer Science = programming

IT = networking/integration

585293966[/snapback]

I'm in a 4-year IT course right now. (University) We do CCNA/CCNP plus all the same programming and math/physics that the CS guys do.

IMO an IT degree is useless. Most computer jobs ask for a computer science degree, whether it's networking or programming.

585293991[/snapback]