[Science] What fills the space in the subatomic?

Hey Guys,

For years I've been asking myself a question that always leaves me frustrated.

What fills the spaces between protons, neutrons, and electrons?

As an up-and-coming nuclear physicist, I always try to bother myself with impossible questions such as this one.

Someone that is semi-alfuent in subatomic physics first impulse might be to blurt out pions, mesons, baryons, leptons, quarks, petaquarks, ect. But this can't be! Those particles (when not enclosed inside pions or mesons) are hurteling toward and small or massive scale of gravitational pull!

AND IT CAN'T BE NOTHING! That is the only answer that I cannot accept! It would defy the laws of physics. There is no nothing. But what fills the space?!

Does this drive anyone else nuts?!

-Ax

Hey Guys,

For years I've been asking myself a question that always leaves me frustrated.

What fills the spaces between protons, neutrons, and electrons?

As an up-and-coming nuclear physicist, I always try to bother myself with impossible questions such as this one.

Someone that is semi-alfuent in subatomic physics first impulse might be to blurt out pions, mesons, baryons, leptons, quarks, petaquarks, ect. But this can't be! Those particles (when not enclosed inside pions or mesons) are hurteling toward and small or massive scale of gravitational pull!

AND IT CAN'T BE NOTHING! That is the only answer that I cannot accept! It would defy the laws of physics. There is no nothing. But what fills the space?!

Does this drive anyone else nuts?!

-Ax

585859816[/snapback]

1. if you're talking about how revolving particles lose energy, then you need to read up some more. that was investigated in quantum mechanics.

2. that's a pretty cartesian argument. again, this has been discussed.

Read up on quantum mechanics. You can't apply the principle of classical physics into the quantum realm.

585859830[/snapback]

yup. things are very different at the quantum level.