Linux Q&A

I was wondering why we dont yet have a dedicated thread to answering all us Linux noobs questions? I know it be very useful and would stop spamming up this subforum with single question threads. I hope this can be stickied for use by everyone who wants to learn to use Linux and those willing to help. Weve gotta start somewhere people. ;)

Ive asked questions in here before and people basically tell me to go away. I just think this kind of thread would be very useful.

That's the whole point of this forum, *nix Support. Having a separate thread for each topic allows users to look through the forum and find topics related to their problems. If monolithic threads were the norm, we could do away with all the threads in this forum and just have one big topic :p

Ill start us off. Im running the latest version of Ubuntu, just installed it a couple days ago and its my first time with Linux. My default resolution is low, 1024x768 I think it is. I figured out how to up my res (ctrl+alt+plus sign) but instead of resizing to fit my monitor, it just makes me have to move the cursor around to the edge of the screen to see it. Whats the problem here?

edit: I tihnk of had something to do with an opton i accidentally skipped when installing about optional resolutions. Is there someway to add the resolutions I missed without reinstalling?

Edited by TheTerminator

Ill start us off.  Im running the latest version of Ubuntu, just installed it a couple days ago and its my first time with Linux.  My default resolution is low, 1024x768 I think it is.  I figured out how to up my res (ctrl+alt+plus sign)  but instead of resizing to fit my monitor, it just makes me have to move the cursor around to the edge of the screen to see it.  Whats the problem here?

edit: I tihnk of had something to do with an opton i accidentally skipped when installing about optional resolutions.  Is there someway to add the resolutions I missed without reinstalling?

586043101[/snapback]