Xcode - Worth Learning?

I'm primarily a web programmer, but all this talk about how easy Xcode is, and of course it's the recommended language in Apple's pages. I don't own a mac yet, but I plan on getting an Intel Mac mini when available (I have the time to save up).

But would it be worth learning, and if so - for what purpose? oh, is this used to create Dashboard Widgets (because I wouldn't mind learning how to write those), unless Applescript is used to write them. (then again, Applescript vs Xcode)

To Sum Up

- Worth learning Xcode 2.0/1 for my limited purposes

- What can Xcode create

- Dashboard Widget programming language

- Applescript vs Xcode

Thanks in advance.

P.S.

I have searched Apple's website but I'm not entirely clear. Also, sorry for all the questions.

To sum up your questions:

1. XCode can be used to write dashboard widgets, but from what I understand it's not required for that.

2. XCode is an IDE for programming a variety of languages (even AppleScript). It's not a language itself.

XCode is in a way the Mac equivalent of Visual Studio on Windows, with the added advantage that it is free.

The best thing for you to do would be to sign up for a free developer account at Apple Developer Connection. You can get lots of good information there.

Don't I have to pay for ADC membership?

So, Xcode is Visual Studio...if that's the case, then what language is used: C/C++ ?

586047264[/snapback]

XCode is just an IDE and much like Visual Studio you can use any one of a dozens of languages.

I've used it to write PHP, others use it for Python. The most common languages used to create

Mac OS X applications (and by extension the most popular languages for use with XCode) are:

• Objective-C
  • Objective-C++
  • C++
  • Java
  • AppleScript

You create the interface for a Dashboard widget using HTML, CSS and Javascript. Javascript

widgets have hooks so that they can call on functionality from Cocoa objects or shell scripts so