Destroying my TV

Okay, so here's the deal (and I'm not even sure I'm in the right section, but hey...worth a shot).

In September of last year, I finally made the move and bought my own TV (I'm a 19 year-old college student, so this was a momentous occasion :p), a 27" WEGA with component input which I was LEAD to believe, BY MY FELLOW BEST BUY EMPLOYEE, would do 480p and upwards. Yes, I'm an idiot, but at the time I thought, "Hey, $400 for HD is a hot deal." I also purchased an Extended Service Plan 'cause I live in Florida, and have had bad experiences with heat and liquids before.

Yeah so needless to say, I was owned. But I kept the TV because there was nothing else in the price range that DID 480p.

Now the store is selling this 27" Samsung that does up to 1080i, and it's $450. Me likey. I have decided to sacrifice my WEGA.

Problem is, I can't just trade my TV in; the Service Plan on TVs doesn't allow for wanton replacement just 'cause I "feel like it." The TV must have damage of some sort.

There were some problems with the TV from the get-go which I'm assuming were inherent, but I'll list them anyway.

1. Image is flickery, particularly in 16:9 mode.

2. Image is not straight, it bends at the top, and never fits exactly inside the frame of the TV.

Here are the rules for the Service Plan:

No physical abuse of any kind (I'm assuming they're only going to take a basic look at it, but still; let's not use a baseball bat).

Heat, electrical, humidity, and dust-based damage are all permissible. I'd rather not spill a drink, either.

So...any ideas as to what I can do?

1. Image is flickery, particularly in 16:9 mode.

2. Image is not straight, it bends at the top, and never fits exactly inside the frame of the TV.

586258457[/snapback]

Shouldnt just those two be enough if you say you noticed the changes within the last week or so?