Fiber Optic Cabling

Ok, I am new to building to building fiber optics, so I need some help.

In addition to our main location, we operate three buildings which are all next to each other. We currently used a piece-work wireless system to connect the three. I am going to run fiber between the three buildings but am new to this type of fiber.

Our contractor has put conduit inplace. The runs are 500ft and 450ft. One location has a switch with two fiber GBIC 1000B-SX. The other locations have switches with 1000B-SX connectors. I know I could get really long "patch cables" to go between thebuildings, but I want to do this right. What cable should I get? Patchpanels? I see multistrand multimode. I need a little clarification. I assume 6 strand cable simply has six fibers (3 pairs) and because of the short distance, multimode would be best. Any thoughts/recommendations?

I haven't done too much of that myself either, but I know we use Corning patch panels and 6 strand multimode fiber between our buildings.

With runs of only 500 feet, you won't have to worry about distance. Multimode can run about 2km before you need to boost the signal.

I guess I should add a bit more to that previous post.