hacking win xp

alright, i dont know if anyone will be able to answer this... but i'll ask anyways

my computer teacher gave us a challenge - hack his win xp box and find a text file on his desktop and next class tell him what was in the file and get extra credit.

he also said we can try to hack his linux box (but thats a little harder aint it?)

so i though i'd go for the win xp.

now im not exactly a pro with networks... hacking.. and such. the only possible way i can think to get in his computer is thru remote desktop.. andddd that didnt work.

so while i'm trying to keep this topic educational, can someone drop me somes hints? (i want some extra credit)

he said it was easy!!!! im only in my 3rd year so i havent taken too many computer classes yet and im no pro, like i said before.

HELP

(yeah its 3am and the a/c isnt working.. and im bored :D )

Have your simply browsed to see if c$ share still exists?

586498633[/snapback]

see actually i have no idea what you just said :laugh:

can you explain? :unsure:

You should hack it, get the text file and then reformat his harddrive!

:woot:

586498647[/snapback]

yeah that'll get me extra credit, along with getting kick out of school! he said he has nothing on the computer, its just for testing.. but im sure he wouldnt like that :p

\\servername\c$

where servername is his computername or whatever... is what he means..

This checks for the normal windows hidden share... you could also port scan it (i assume you know the network ip for it ?) and check for some......open ports :ninja: if you know what i mean :ninja:

\\servername\c$

where servername is his computername or whatever... is what he means..

This checks for the normal windows hidden share... you could also port scan it (i assume you know the network ip for it ?) and check for some......open ports :ninja: if you know what i mean :ninja:

586498671[/snapback]