• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

    Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

  • 0
Sign in to follow this  

'My Network Places' Outdated?

Question

mattrobs    1

I have a simple LAN network.

Some items in 'My Network Places' are outdated. For example, I shared a folder, but later took the folder down, but it still is listed on My Network Places. Of course, when you click on it, it says it no longer exists, but it still is listed.

How can I force a "refresh" of My Network Places, or manually remove outdated items?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Smit    0

F5 or View -> Refresh usally works for me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
takai003    0

You can also right click on objects and select 'delete'

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
mattrobs    1

Thanks for the tip, but..

When you share a folder, it not only appears on the other user's Network Places on the network, but also on your own, right?

So, if I click on my own shared folder from My Network Places, it redirects me to the local version (because its on my computer).

So then, the link in My Network Places changes from a link that accesses through the LAN, to a link that jumps directly to the folder on the hard drive.

While F5 Refresh will remove outdated folders which link to remotely located folders, it will not remove links to local folders.

The local folders are no longer shared on the network, but they are still put in My Network Places.

Tell me you understand?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.