Where can I buy some Sodium Iodide?

Seriously, this is no joke. I want to buy some Sodium Iodide (NaI) because I need to duplicate DNA, of course! Polymerase chain reactions obviously.

Ok I lied, lol. Even if I am using it for practical joke purposes, I'm a biologist/chemist in training, so I know what I'm doing with the compounds. I just need to know where in USA (north east please), can I buy NaI? I guess Potassium Iodide would work, but I'd rather have Sodium Iodide. Do you think a drug store like Eckerd or Walgreens would sell it?

I don't need a large amount of the compound. I know where to buy it in London, but thats of no use to me as I want it here. So fellow American science experimenters, where do you obtain your chemicals?

Seriously, this is no joke. I want to buy some Sodium Iodide (NaI) because I need to duplicate DNA, of course! Polymerase chain reactions obviously.

Ok I lied, lol. Even if I am using it for practical joke purposes, I'm a biologist/chemist in training, so I know what I'm doing with the compounds. I just need to know where in USA (north east please), can I buy NaI? I guess Potassium Iodide would work, but I'd rather have Sodium Iodide. Do you think a drug store like Eckerd or Walgreens would sell it?

I don't need a large amount of the compound. I know where to buy it in London, but thats of no use to me as I want it here. So fellow American science experimenters, where do you obtain your chemicals?

586780560[/snapback]

I think drug stores might be selling Iodine by itself and you many have to prepare a batch yourself if nothing else works

I think drug stores might be selling Iodine by itself and you many have to prepare a batch yourself if nothing else works

586780640[/snapback]

i would not recommend making your own batch at home...if you dont have the proper ventaliation your poisoned...if it reacts to something around u....KABOom