web designer vs. web developer

Question

i think a web designer concertrates on the design and looks of a site while a develper likes to use the next bit of fancy code to make the website tick. thats wot i think

Web Designer - A job that anyone can pick up fairly quicky and easily.

Web Developer - A job that requires aptitude in math/logic and years of training.

Cant agree with that last one.... designing takes skill... people dont realize that. In order to make something look good you have to make it look right as well... one can get a copy of photoshop press a few buttons and call themselves a designer but they'd be full of sh*t. Designing takes time. You have to learn how things flow together. For example colors and spacing. Its just as hard as any job.

I also disagree with John Doe. I'm not good at designing pages... like choosing colors and making images, but I can program some cool stuff with PHP and HTML. It didn't take "years of training" to learn that. I'm sure it does for some more advanced stuff though.

I'm not saying that designing web pages isn't time consuming, just it is in no way as mentally taxing as programming.

For example, during the internet boom, people from all different industries changed careers and became web designers. Not that many switched over into programming.

BTW WDZ, HTML isn't programming.

Well in my opionion, designing a site is harder than actually doing the php/asp/jsp/ whatever coding (developing)... Code visitors don't see, plus this day and age everything depends on looks...