Forging a career in sports photography

Evening everyone...

Right, i have some questions for the established photographers out there. I am at a point in my life where i have to make decisions about where i want to go in life, especially in terms of career prospects. I am looking at various career paths and seeing what it takes and what it involves. Naturally, i have a liking for photography and recently I've started to photograph sports events. Sports photography has therefore sprung up as something I'd like to get into. I enjoy doing it and love the end results even better - there's nothing like getting a killer photo of a moment in a game...bare in mind though that i am still learning.

What i am trying to get at here is that i would seriously like to get information and / or advice regarding this line of work. What equipment is required, lenses, converters and so on. Are agencies the best routes or freelance photographer better?

Currently 17, fast approaching 18 years old i really would like to narrow down which way i go in life, obviously keeping options open. Like I've said photography i something i really love. Your advice, input and / or experiences would very much be welcomed.

Almost all sports photographers work for a newspaper. Freelancers probably won't be able to get credentials to get into the big events.

Some newspapers will even supply you with a camera/lenses.