• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

CSS Hacks & Help

Question

LG-2    0

Ok this is a short thread, but I find it important to those who are beginning to code CSS. I am not a professional myself, I know just couple of the basics, and will share them with you guys. Feel free to contribute. :)

First One:

Most develepers now HATE IE for the lack of support of the new technologies. One thing is, sometimes the measurements totally mess up. So how can you fix this?

I have come across couple of useful hacks, one of them is to simply put a " * " behind the rule, like this:

#my_table {
margin:5px; /* FireFox & Others */
* margin: 7px; /* IE */
}

Or

* #my_table {
margin:5px; /* IE */
}

There was another one with an underscore I believe, but I don't know it well, you might want to Google it if you are not satisfied with the " * " results.

Second:

Do you hate the fact that in IE the only thing you can hover is links? Doesn't that suck? Doesn't it suck that you have to use an extra javascript and add it to the top of your pages to just have that cool effect? Well, I can't tell you that you won't need something else external, but this is better I guarantee you.

User Peter Nederlof's hover hack: http://www.xs4all.nl/~peterned/hovercraft.html

Simply upload to your CSS folder this file: http://www.xs4all.nl/~peterned/htc/csshover.htc

Then in your CSS's body add:

body {
		behavior:url("../htc/csshover.htc"); /* You can change the path of course */
	}

Now you have added the :hover pseudo class to IE.

Third: