[UK]What HD Tv To Buy

Hi, my dad is leaving the navy soon and is interested in buying a new HD tv,

so basically im askign for help on a high quality HD ready tv, preferably with a HDMI connection or RGB connections (for my Xbox 360). I was looking at these 2

http://www.comet.co.uk/comet/html/cache/650_274461.html

http://www.comet.co.uk/comet/html/cache/650_262064.html

and that seems to be a good tv, the size, of the TV should be between 40" and 50" as my uncle has a 42" HD tv and we want a better one than that, hehe :p

so yeah, can anyone help me out by either saying the main things that i'd need to look out for, or any good HD tv sets for under ?1500

cheers

well i no nothing about High Definition so i wouldnt know, if Rear Projection isnt that good then i guess i can be moved to persuade my dad that a 32-42 HD Tv is good enough as long as its high quality.

and yes...i am not that good at halo 2, well i am kinda, i just dont play enough, or have a reliable connection to Xbox Live

I don't know what type of "experts" you guys are - but DLP TVs are fine. I have many friends which own them, and they are totally satisfied with them. In fact, they last longer then Plasma, and have the potential to look sharper.

cheers, i like that one, just gotta work on convincing dad to buy one now

also, in case he doesnt like the size of the tv (might be too big for our front room when we move) are the 2 links from Pc World anygood?

also, how do i connect my 360 up to the tv for HD?

The two PC World TVs you linked to are also very good. LG is a good brand - I've seen one of their TVs on display at Dixons (sorry, currys.digital lol), and it looked fantastic.

You'll have to connect your Xbox 360 via analogue cables, i.e. component cables, since 360 doesn't support DVI or HDMI.

All HD ready TVs should support some form of analogue input. I recommend that you confirm the TVs support component by looking at the spec on the LG website.

If you're not sure, post here.