How To Uninstall A Program On A Mac

Hi I'm new to macs i just got my ibook and i installed a few programs just to see how well they work on a mac, but now i need to unintall them, probelm is i don't see an unintall file in the program dir, or is a add/remove programs section like in windows, would anyone be kind as to show me how i go about doing this??

i think username is right lol i remember Dazzla telling me that MS Office X is one file (!!!) and that to uninstall it you just drag it to the trash..

a LOT of programs simply are just one "file" that is simply dragged to the trash and forgotten. In reality, those "file" are actually directories. But macs are smart, in that when you open the directory, it just starts the main program in it. In this manner, applications can store all the data they need within a self-contained package. This makes installation and uninstallion as easy as drag and drop :)

a LOT of programs simply are just one "file" that is simply dragged to the trash and forgotten. In reality, those "file" are actually directories. But macs are smart, in that when you open the directory, it just starts the main program in it. In this manner, applications can store all the data they need within a self-contained package. This makes installation and uninstallion as easy as drag and drop :)

WOW! Nice...

Yup, it's that easy... some of the things that imho make OS 10 really easy to use are .app (packages) and .dmg (images) leaves out a lot of fuzz when distributing :happy:

also, if you want to actual peek into the directory itself (which is useful if you want to replace icons or other resources), just control+click (or right click) and choose show package contents :)