• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

Photography

donchen    9

Hi guys, I'm trying to know more about photgraphy.. i'm new to this and hope to learn more about it.

To start off, what camera should i get ? I'm only a newbie in this so i dun need those high end type but at least one that can perform well enough for me to learn.

Syphonic    0

Well, give us a budget first, then we can have a think.

Stevieboy84    0

I'm in a similar boat, I've been looking at a few entry level digital SLRs and the general reccomendation seems to be between the Canon EOS 350D and the Nikon D50.. The Nikon is a bit bigger and cheaper, but sounds like it performs well. I've been looking at lots of websites, trying to learn about the different lens types and how they work/what difference they make, so i'd reccomend googling something like 'Understanding camera lenses' or something similar...

Both the camera's described normally come with a 18-55mm lens, which will do for most things, but jessops has a great deal on at the mo, which i am thinking on going for, which means you can get a 70-300mm lens for ?100 (half price) when bought with the Nikon..

I hear that you get what you pay for when it comes to lenses, so the more money you spend on one (bearing in mind ?100 for a lens is cheap) the better quality you will get.

Hope these minor snippets of info help you get started on the hunt for info, I'm no where near understanding everything fully yet, but will try help answer any specific questions.

Steve

Edited by Stevieboy84

donchen    9

Thanks alot Stevie. =) It was very helpful.

Anyway, My budget will probably be able S$300 bucks max ? I don't really know how much camera cost. But if its worth investing, I wouldn't mind.

Stevie, I'll take a look at the 2 cameras u recommend and will check in back here later to comment on it. Thanks!

Brandon    299