• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

Depressed about Vista?

S550    104

I like everyone else was very excited about Vista coming out back when it was Longhorn..but is anyone else depressed about the final product? I know the underlaying technologies are great and that Vista will get better when it is actually release and in the few months following...but am I the only one that isn't very impressed with it out of the box? @ this point in time I don't see it offering me as a web developer anything that XP or 2000 already doesn't.

It works flawlessly on my machines so I'm not complaining about that..I don't know..something just bugs/depresses me about it. Maybe I just over hyped myself about it.

Morishani    0

@ this point in time I don't see it offering me as a web developer anything that XP or 2000 already doesn't.

I'm a web developer too and i can't see any upgrades for us in vista :(

reactionary007    13

if so much of it wasn't back ported to xp it would be more stand out - but it is still a very nice OS.

qdave    159

i guess i am a bit dissapointed that it isn't what i thought it will be. but apart from that its great :)

raskren    0

Prozac can be an effective treatment for depression. Never heard of anyone being put on SSRIs because of an Operating System though.

S550    104

OK maybe depressed isn't the right word to use, but when i boot up my laptop now its like..."*sigh* ok now its time to use Windows again..." there is no excitement at all. When i get to a XP or 2k machine its like "Cool, computers w00t". and I'm typically the guy that excited about new toys/software/tech stuff. Vista just leaves me with an empty feeling. Like I got it...but it doesn't give me anything in return.

Spielo    0

I think people just get generally more cynical... well, not cynical exactly, just less easily excited as you get older.