Wide Angle Zoom Lens?

I'm about to purchase one, mainly for landscapes, buildings etc and have come across this:

http://sigmaphoto.com/lenses/lenses_all_de...amp;navigator=1

It's pretty much at the top of my budget and seems like the best one i can get at that price. Could anyone recommend it or any other brands etc for a similar price?

Thanks

I'm still very new to photography, but from what I've heard Sigma is an excellent third party brand. As far as how good that lens is for what you're doing, I would also suggest dpreview.com as well.

check out the Sigma 10-20 as well; I have it and the quality is absolutely superb. The price is also lower; but don't let that fool you into thinking it's a lower quality.

Oh i didnt see the Sigma 10-20. Is that a new model then? Do you have any example shots you could show me peterish? that you've taken :)

For a canon camera by the way

Also something which concerns me is vingnetting on my Canon 350D. Will this occur with the 10-20mm lens? Not sure about my sensor siz, sigma say: Vignetting will occur if the lens is used with digital cameras with image sensors larger than APS-C size or 35mm SLR cameras.

Edited by saxondale.

Oh i didnt see the Sigma 10-20. Is that a new model then? Do you have any example shots you could show me peterish? that you've taken :)

Also something which concerns me is vingnetting on my Canon 350D. Will this occur with the 10-20mm lens? Not sure about my sensor siz, sigma say: Vignetting will occur if the lens is used with digital cameras with image sensors larger than APS-C size or 35mm SLR cameras.

Full-frame sensors would experience it, 350D would definately not, it's an APS-C size.

10-20mm Sigma would not give you an actual 10-20mm focal length, as the sensor crop magnifies it by 1.6?

It might not be 1.6, I can't remember! but I'm sure it's that or something similar.

It is x1.6.