[Recommend] Bridge Camera or Entry Level SLR

I would like to get into photography but I currently only have a point-and-click canon ixus for holiday and party snaps. I would like to purchase a camera with some more professional features and I am looking at a wide budget range from say UK?200 to UK?400. Preferably near to ?300.

I am open to all styles, bridge cameras and digital slrs are both welcome recommendations. I just want something that is going to be easy to learn with and takes pretty nice photos. My current thoughts are something from the Lumix FZ range, or maybe a canon eos, not really sure because I am new to this.

Any recommendations?

Dinos

Canon S3 IS.. can easily be found for $300 US or less now. It's a large step up for regular point and shoot, but not quite an slr.

* 12x optical zoom lens with USM and UD lens element

* Optical Image Stabilizer

* 6.0 Megapixel CCD

* Larger size 2.0? Vari-angle LCD

* 30fps VGA movies with stereo sound and Photo in Movie feature

* DIGIC II, iSAPS and Flexizone AF/AE for fast, precise results and 2.3 fps continuous shooting performance

* 20 shooting modes and My Colors photo effects

* High ISO Auto and ISO 800 for low light flexibility

* Widescreen (16:9) recording

as well as an easily available and usable sd memory card hack that allows the camera to feature RAW support and much more.

I have this camera and use the hack.. and for me it's been the greatest thing since sliced bread.

you can't go wrong with Canon, panasonic and Fujifilm.

On a side note, Fujifilm uses their own memory format.

they used to... newer models are using xd OR sd, which is something they should have done a long time ago IMO.

i haven't used it myself.. but from what i've heard, panasonic is bad at ISO noise as well as their "optical image stabilization", which apparently only works successfully sometimes.