• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

Make a simple PHP "required" field

Question

Mongrel    0

I've been recycling the same PHP script for a few years now for basic submission forms, which has been working fine. But I have a friend/client who needs to make one of the fields "required," as in "go back and fill that in." I've tried three very different solutions after spending three nights searching, and nothing has worked - everything ends up as a parsing error.

At the top right of this page is the existing form:

http://www.clearcreekconsulting.com/garnishment.html

This is the Sending.php file that initiates when Call Me is clicked. I need to make the Phone field a requirement before the field can be submitted.:

<html>
<head><br>
<title>Sending...</title>
</head>
<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="1; URL=sent.html"> 
<?
//Text Boxes
$name = $_POST{"name"};
$phone = $_POST{"phone"};

//Dropdown Boxes
$liability = $_POST['liability'];
$callwhen = $_POST['callwhen'];

//Where you see the email change it to your email.
//Your may change  "Your sites comments" to anything you wish, this is the subject line
//Do not touch the rest

$to = "nospam@msn.com";
$from = $email;
$subject = "Free Consultation Request";
$message = "Name: $name
Liability: $liability\n
Phone: $phone
Best time to call: $callwhen\n";
$headers = "From: $from";
mail($to,$subject,$message,$headers);

?>

<style type="text/css">
<!--
.style1 {font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif}
.style7 {font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
	font-size: 12px;
}
-->
</style>
<title></title><span class="style1"><br>
<br>
</span>
</html>

Is there something about this method of scripting that would make a required field not work? Thanks a million in advance...

9 answers to this question

primexx    372

put this right after getting $phone

if (!isset($phone)) {header('Location:http://website.com/form.php?req=phone');}