Psystar Selling Hackintosh PCs, Called OpenMac


Recommended Posts

So while searching the nets I found this company Psystar and they are selling Hackintosh OSx86 computers in violation of Apples EULA aka it is illegal to install leopard on non-Apple hardware. Apparently the retail copy installs because they are using EFI emulation to get around it or something.

OpenMac: The Smart Alternative to an Apple

The Psystar OpenMac works just like an Apple Macintosh. Why spend $1999 to get the least expensive Apple computer with a decent video card when you can pay less than a fourth of that for an equivalent sleek and small form-factor desktop with the same hardware. Sometimes reinventing the wheel is a good thing. The OpenMac can work for new Mac users and Mac geniuses, alike.

$399 apparently

Price per Unit (piece): $399.99

The highly extensible OpenMac is a configuration of PC hardware capable of running unmodified OS X Leopard kernels. If you purchase Leopard with your OpenMac we will not only include the actual Leopard retail package with genuine installation disc, but we also include a Psystar restore disc for your OpenMac and we will preinstall Leopard for free so you can begin to use your computer right out of the box.

Base Configuration

* 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 Processor

* 2GB of DDR2 667 memory

* Integrated Intel GMA 950 Graphics

* 20x DVD+/-R SATA drive that is Lightscribe-capable

* 4 rear USB Ports

OpenMac Product Page

Company site.

Real/Fake??

How long before the long legal arm of Steve Jobs puts an end to this?

Real/Fake??

How long before the long legal arm of Steve Jobs puts an end to this?

I'm sure it's real. I am also sure that Apple are going to put a stop to this pretty quick smart. Whether Psystar gets buried by a lawsuit (Apple doesn't need to win - just send Psystar broke from lawyers fees), or Apple "fix" Leopard so that it doesn't start on an OpenMac, I can't see it lasting very long. I'd also be interested to know if using "Mac" would count as a trademark violation.

wow... steve isn't gonna be happy about this.

osx86 is lame... it is hard to get running perfectly and is even harder to update...not that i would know :whistle:

This pretty much has scam written all over it, except the scam artist is an idiot and he's about to be in bucketloads of trouble with apple.

Edited by ralph_tran

no, its fake... from their web site

Toll Free 888.456.7801

Phone 305.356.6666

Fax 305.357.5555

E-mail [email protected] e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

PsyStar Corporation

10645 SW 112 ST

Miami, FL 33176

now go look up the address on google maps... its run out of someone's home... not a corporation. its fake.

I even checked the address the whois information is registered under... out of someone's house

http://maps.live.com/?q=&mkt=en-us&amp...zguMTY0MDYyNQ==

I highly doubt this is real, please take with a large grain of salt.

Ohh yeah, going to get sued quickly.

...

now go look up the address on google maps... its run out of someone's home... not a corporation. its fake.

I even checked the address the whois information is registered under... out of someone's house

http://maps.live.com/?q=&mkt=en-us&amp...zguMTY0MDYyNQ==

I highly doubt this is real, please take with a large grain of salt.

You can run companies out of your house.

I bought my old ADSL modem from a computer "store" that was in the guys garage.

no, its fake... from their web site

Toll Free 888.456.7801

Phone 305.356.6666

Fax 305.357.5555

E-mail [email protected] e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

PsyStar Corporation

10645 SW 112 ST

Miami, FL 33176

now go look up the address on google maps... its run out of someone's home... not a corporation. its fake.

I even checked the address the whois information is registered under... out of someone's house

http://maps.live.com/?q=&mkt=en-us&amp...zguMTY0MDYyNQ==

I highly doubt this is real, please take with a large grain of salt.

MS Virtual Earth >>>> Google Earth.

But yeah, this is obviously a scam. Psystar even sounds like a phony internet handle.

Psystar: Reinventing The Wheel for the past seven years.

This sounds like CherryOS version 2. Except it would never have happened were it not for Apple going Intel.

EDIT: Laughing. My. ****ing. Ass. Off. Notice how all their other 'products' - actually, PRODUCT - are $1999.99? And clicking individual categories in the store leads to the same damn $1999 Psyvoice PBX product over and over...?

A company called Psystar has started advertising a $399 computer called "OpenMac" which claims to be a Leopard compatible Mac built from standard PC-parts. For $399, you get a tower computer with the following specs:

- 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

- 2GB of DDR2 667 memory

- Integrated Intel GMA 950 Graphics

- 20x DVD+/-R Drive

- 4 USB Ports

- 250GB 7200RPM Drive

Many of the components can be upgraded, however. For example, the graphics card can be updated to a GeForce 8600GT 512MB for $155 more.

Psystar is marketing this as a cheaper and more expandable alternative to a true Apple Mac.

When comparing base configurations, the Mac Mini costs 150% of the price of the OpenMac while offering poorer performance, smaller storage space, and RAM. Not only that but the Mac Mini doesn't have the option for an nVidia GeForce 8600 video card like the OpenMac does so playing games on it is a lost cause.

The company claims that the machine is Leopard compatible with some "minimal patching" but does offer Leopard pre-installed. This is reportedly accomplished by using parts that are known to be compatible with Mac OS X Leopard, as well as the use of an EFI emulator.

With the EFI V8 emulator it is possible to install Leopard's kernel straight from the DVD that you purchased at the Apple store barring the addition of a few drivers to ensure that everything boots and runs smoothly.

Readers should note that these claims have not been independently verified, so this should not seen as an endorsement of this product. However, the technology appears to be derived from the osx86project, which has allowed hobbyists to install Mac OS X on their non-Apple PCs.

The concept is an interesting possibility, and will certainly draw the attention of Apple. The use of Leopard on non Apple-branded hardware is a violation of its End User License Agreement (EULA) and is specifically prohibited.

Source @ MacRumours

Anyone else smell a lawsuit coming?

This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Posts

  • Recent Achievements

    • Very Popular
      Captain_Eric earned a badge
      Very Popular
    • One Month Later
      amusc earned a badge
      One Month Later
    • One Month Later
      DJC50PLUS earned a badge
      One Month Later
    • Week One Done
      DJC50PLUS earned a badge
      Week One Done
    • Proficient
      Eric Biran went up a rank
      Proficient
  • Popular Contributors

    1. 1
      +primortal
      509
    2. 2
      PsYcHoKiLLa
      222
    3. 3
      ATLien_0
      92
    4. 4
      +Edouard
      86
    5. 5
      Steven P.
      81
  • Tell a friend

    Love Neowin? Tell a friend!