Do you post process?

Hey guys. I'm pretty new to the whole digital photography world. I picked up a beginner DSLR a few weeks ago and am loving it. I've seen some awesome photos here on neowin in the gallery from members. I was just wondering how much post processing goes into the photos you shoot. I guess I'm talking about making adjustments in PS/Aperture/Lightroom. What would you say are the key things to adjust on a photo after shooting? Of course, this depends on the photo, but I'm just looking for some guidelines.

Also, I thought it would be interesting for some of you to post your favourite shots with a before without post processing and after with post processing.

Thanks for any tips, I need all I can get!

I think there might be an old topic somewhere on this already.

However, i use Lightroom to get the WB right because i tend to forget about it and it really effects the difference between a good photo and a bad one and sometimes contrast etc depends on what the actual picture is.

I dont really like post because it takes time, so i try and get it right first time round

I do postprocess my shots. I don't heavily photoshop them to the point where you'd be hard pressed to tell which original image it came from, but I generally adjust temperature and tone curve. Sometimes I adjust the saturation, sometimes across the entire image, sometimes on specific colours.

Actually sky is the limit in post-processing.. You can do anything and everything or nothing depending upon your choice..

Here is my latest endeavor.

From this....

Interlaken.jpg

To this...

2438364248_18c3b1fb10.jpg

I do, but not too much usually. Just the usual sharpness, contrast, white balance, temperature, etc.

I do, but not too much usually. Just the usual sharpness, contrast, white balance, temperature, etc.

Same here :)

I want to learn to PP.

Are there any good guides for beginners? I'm a noob graphic artist and I'll probably use Lightroom to PP.

I want to learn to PP.