[help] Portforwarding with the BT Home hub

Question

Harreh

So recently I've been having unbearable lag problems when playing WC3 tft on battle.net and I'm pretty sure that the problem is related to my ports not being forwarded.

I've put the entry in to the BT Home Hub and selected the correct target machine, but the ports just won't forward according to the uTorrent port checker. Plus I get the lag on battle.net. I've had the entry in ever since I started playing it and only now I start to experience problems.

I've been able to have ports open before but now it just won't work.

Also I can't really use uTorrent to download torrents since the port isn't open.

I get very good results on speed testers, so my internet isn't acting up or my brother killing it with downloads etc.

I'm also using the built in firewall to Vista, but I have WC3 and uTorrent allowed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

21 answers to this question

+BudMan

do you any other device between you and the home hub, or between the home hub and the internet? ie another router/modem or voip device?

are you forwarding by IP or by some name listed in the BTHH? Verify that the IP of your machine is what the BTHH shows for your machine.

I would turn off any software firewalls on your machine, atleast for testing. But to be honest if your behind a nat router, unless you need to treat other machines on your local network as hostile, there is little need for a software firewall.

Harreh

There is nothing between my PC and the home hub. I'm connecting directly to it wirelessly.

I'm forwarding by device name (Shaun is the device name for my PC here) and it has correctly identified my machine.

I'm going to try to see if I can open these ports to a different machine.

+BudMan