Dissapointed in Ubuntu 8.04

Dissapointed with Ubuntu 8.04?  

162 members have voted

1. 1. Dissapointed with Ubuntu 8.04?

• Yes
    • No
    • I don't care for Ubuntu/never used it.

I have been using Linux for six years, for servers and sometimes desktops, and I have found Ubuntu to be an acceptable desktop distro. However, I have not been able to install all the old software I was familiar with in the latest version (8.04). Does anyone else feel the same? Differently?

Edit: Easily install with APT without having to do a <snipped> load of modifications. I don't mind configuring servers but I want it to be easy for desktops, understandably.

Please do not bypass the swear filter

Edited by Barney

Not disappointed at all.

What "crap"load (bypassing swear filter with numbers is probably a no-no) of apps do you have problems installing? Or what apt modifications do you do?

I am seriously curious what strange apps you use that need this. Everything I use (except google earth, UT2k4, and Doom3 Demo) have been installed using the package manager.

I haven't had any problems with 8.04.

Linux still has a long way to go on the desktop side imo. Video drivers aren't up to par and Gnome needs the love of a professional graphic designer.

Not disappointed at all, switched from Vista ultimate to Ubuntu 8.04 full time (have used Ubuntu since 7.04 but not full time) and have been very satisfied with it. Much better and faster that windows.

Currently have Ubuntu 8.04 on 7 of the 8 pc's in the house, and the last one doesn't have Ubuntu for the reason that it's a gaming machine...

PS: Everything works fine, the only thing I had to investigate to get to work on my laptop ASUS G1 was the small oled (as they call it), everything else just worked. Wireless, graphics card, card reader, sound, touchpad, media buttons (never got to work on windows)... everything

FYI DrIvErS ArE tHe IsSuE wItH LiNuX FyI