• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

Who Makes The Best DSLR?

Who makes the best DSLR?  

66 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Tech Star    254

I am in the market to buy a DSLR and I have been looking at Sony's and I love them, but I am a beginner in this area and I was wondering what are the best ones?

teriba    2

It's not just about the body, you have to consider the entire system (lenses, flashes, remotes, etc). For this reason I would only consider Canon or Nikon since there is tons of gear available for them and lots in the used market as well.

Personally I consider Canon to be better than Nikon as well.

Kerm    51

Tough question for someone other than yourself to answer.

I prefer Canon's personally, at work we use D2x's which are pretty good workhorses, i'd rather have a 1Ds though. But further down the line the 40D and D300 are pretty evenly matched.

I own a 30d and a 350D, love them both.

Brandon    299

The newer Nikons dont allow you to use the majority of Nikon's lenses with Auto Focus as they lack an internal Focus motor (D40, D40x, D60) whereas canon can autofocus on any EF or EF-S lens.

Also, you can't beat the bundled photo software with the Canon

sanctified    1,225

Another vote for Canon here.

CrimsonBlur    0

If you are a beginner, I highly recommend the Nikon D40.

6MP is fine for anything but the largest prints (we're talking beyond the size that any consumer would print a picture in the first place). Point-and-shoots have to make up for their tiny, crappy CCDs, but a DSLR has a sensor many times larger.