Premier League 'big four' dominate Uefa club awards nominees

Recommended Posts

Schalke goalkeeper Manuel Neuer and Barcelona team-mates Carles Puyol and Lionel Messi are the only players to have broken the stranglehold of the Premier League's 'big four', Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool.

Uefa club football awards nominees:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Almunia (Arsenal), Petr Cech (Chelsea), Manuel Neuer (Schalke), Pepe Reina (Liverpool), Edwin van der Sar (Manchester Utd).

Defenders: Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester Utd), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), John Terry (Chelsea), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester Utd).

Midfielders: Michael Essien (Chelsea), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Paul Scholes (Manchester Utd).

Forwards: Didier Drogba (Chelsea), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester Utd), Wayne Rooney (Manchester Utd), Fernando Torres (Liverpool).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

ronaldo is a midfielder....

He is not though really. Officially a "winger", but he cuts inside and often plays off Man Utd's leading man, which is the main reason why he scores so many goals.

I think Torres or Messi deserve to win the award, but Ronaldo will get it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Think these are the winners so Sky Sports says...

Manchester United star Cristiano Ronaldo has been named Uefa's European Club Player of the Year.

Ronaldo inspired United to their UEFA Champions League success last season, scoring eight goals in the competition, including one in the final against Chelsea.

The Portuguese international was also named as forward of the year following his goalscoring exploits.

Last season's losing finalists Chelsea dominated the rest of the awards in Monaco with three of their stars picking up the other prizes.

Petr Cech scooped the goalkeeper of the year, John Terry was named defender of the year and the midfielder of the year award went to Frank Lampard.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Adebayor is better than Rooney,

I agree but these awards are based on last season's CL performance and well Adebayor didn't make it as far as Rooney so he doesn't win.

Adebayor is one hell of a striker. I like the way he plays.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.