Recommend a 32-37" TV

Okay for starters, I'm a complete noob when it comes to televisions, especially hi-def stuff, so bare with me please :p

Our twenty year old CRT in our living room just blew it. Now we need to replace it with something with that size range, about 32 to at the most 37 inches - or maybe slightly higher, but we don't really have that much wall space to fit a huge TV. Oh and it's going on a stand that is 28 inches wide.

I'm guessing right now most TVs in that size range are LCDs... unless there are plasmas that are better.

I have no idea which brand offers decent quality at a good price... I'd have to sway to Sony's televisions if anything, but I'm pretty sure there are other better brands as well.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

A lot of friends and myself have Samsung LCD's and we all really enjoy them. Out of their current lineup the A550's would be a good choice (LN32A550 32" or LN37A550 37")

The 37" is only $850 from Amazon

First of all what is your price range?

Just a reasonable price. I would say a max is $1000 CAD.

A lot of friends and myself have Samsung LCD's and we all really enjoy them. Out of their current lineup the A550's would be a good choice (LN32A550 32" or LN37A550 37")

You mean this one? http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.a...amp;catid=23244

I noticed there's also this one too: http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.a...=&langid=EN

edit: Also forgot to mention. This TV will be connected to a standard Rogers cable terminal box... so I'm guessing everything's in standard definition. How would everything look, if there's a lot of upscaling going on?

Correct that first one is one of them I was referring to. I have a slightly older Samsung (46" 720P) and it handles upscaling standard def TV excellently. Of course hooked up to my 360 its a beauty :)

Yup I agree. Go with a Samsung!!