Windows/Linux User Thinking of Switching to Mac

Hi everyone.

I'm an electrical engineering student in Canada who makes frequent use of both Linux (Emacs/LaTeX, GCC, Eclipse, etc) and Windows (Matlab, Office, everything else).

I started my Linux experience about 6 years ago with Fedora Core, and have since used Gentoo, Arch, and now Ubuntu. I'd like to think I have a good idea of what I'm doing.

Lately, Apple's hardware (specifically their Macbook Pro) has been very appealing to me. I love the form factor, the keyboard, and the LOOOONNNG battery life. The only problems are:

1) I love running Linux for the things it's good at.

2) I NEED to have certain windows applications (like Maple, Matlab, Office).

So far, my thoughts are that I would boot OS X by default, use Bootcamp for Windows, and virtualize Linux.

However, I've heard some things that are making me uneasy about this plan. I also have some questions.

1) OS X only has read support for NTFS natively (no write) and Bootcamp in windows only has HFS+ read support. With my Linux/Windows dual-boot I keep everything in my NTFS partition since both can read and write to it. What can I do (other than installing third party software like ntfs-3g) to make this easier?

2) I've heard that the Windows drivers supplied by Bootcamp don't allow the hardware to function perfectly. For example, I've heard numerous stories about the keyboard backlight.

3) I've heard that Flash support in Snow Leopard is AWFUL. This might be an issue since I would probably use OS X for everyday internet browsing. Do a lot of people notice this?

4) I am aware of the possibility of using something like VMWare Fusion or VirtualBox to virtualize windows instead of bootcamp. How well would Office work in this situation? How about computationally intensive software such as Matlab, Mathematica, or Maple?