Common Misconceptions of Evolution

HeretikSaint

I was reading through some of the threads (because I've been away for some time) and I came across a thread on Evolution. I take particular interest in these threads for I am studying to be an Evolutionary Biologist sometime in the future. As I was reading through, a comment caught my eye. Someone had replied (it's not exact but somewhere in the ballpark) "I apply Evolution to animals but I do not apply it to humans because I don't believe humans evolved from apes". Of course I went to hit the reply button only to discover that the thread was locked by the OP's request. Anyway, it really bothers me that this kind of misinformation is spread. Especially if the misinformation is hindering someone's confidence of the theory based upon that misinformation. I thought I would take a moment to clarify some of those misconceptions about Evolution.

Evolution states that humans evolved from apes

There has never been anyone, who has ever understood Evolution by Nature Selection, ever claimed that humans evolved from apes. Apes and humans share a common ancestor but that is the extent of any kind of relation. This common ancestor had evolved in at least two different directions millions of years before humans or apes had come about.

Evolution is just a theory