[HTML] Workplace Website Upgrade

Everyone looks A-OK in Mozilla Firefox (my fav. browser) but most people in this building and the members of the board use Internet Explorer so I have to make sure the upgrade looks good on both (if not all browsers) before upgrading the website. I've linked below a test page. If you view it in FF it should look good enough while in IE the heading segment of the page is broken.

Any tips or clue of what could be causing this? The space to the left of the search engine is missing and the navigation bar is stretched out. I checked the CSS of both and so far found nothing. I'm a kiddy web developer so bare with me.

http://www.boardofreps.org/content/91788/99581/default.aspx

Add this to your css:

.center-wrapper {

background: #333;

}

The nav spacing is because you have margin: 0 0 1.4em

IE doesn't like margins in EM most of the time from what I've encountered.

I'd recommended just using a fixed px #, I'm guessing around 20px.

The other issues are because you haven't put:

cellpadding="0" and cellspacing="0" when you're declaring those tables.

The tables for the menu aren't recommdned, but I don't want to tell you to recode it all, if you want a quick fix, that should do it (there's 2 tables for the nav, put those in <table> part like:

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">

I believe that should work.

I know it's not an issue for you because you only want to check IE, but your drop down menus are screwed in Safari (they render at the same width as the page).

I know it's not an issue for you because you only want to check IE, but your drop down menus are screwed in Safari (they render at the same width as the page).

It does it in IE to, probably the same issue for both.

Add this to your css:

.center-wrapper {

background: #333;

}

The nav spacing is because you have margin: 0 0 1.4em

IE doesn't like margins in EM most of the time from what I've encountered.