"Permission denied" error trying to view C:\users\ files in KNOPPIX

My windows 7 laptop won't start up anywhere past the windows logo so I'm trying to backup my files in C:\Users\Rainz3d\* to an external hard-drive using a KNOPPPIX disc. I boot up KNOPPIX fine, and can get into C:\Users, but I can't open the Rainz3d directory. It keeps saying "permission denied".

I tried right-clicking the folder and changing the permissions in properties, but it says "operation denied" and reverts. Is there a way around this?

I'm using the most up-to-date KNOPPIX disc, but I've never used KNOPPIX before in my life. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for the reply, I tried entering that into LXTerminal but it just says 'cp: cannot stat `C:UsersRainz3d*': No such file or directory'. The path of the users folder in file manager is shown as '/media/sda2/Users'.

Is there something I'm doing wrong? Sorry if it's a stupid question.

This error could be because I'm stupid.

sudo cp -r File/Path/And/Folder/YouWant* /sda2/folder/where/you/want/to/copy/that/stuff/to

That should work fine, just change the variables to suit and launch it in lxterminal.

Please remember that "su" or "sudo" gives you root access to the linux kernel and allows you to do anything you please.

Ok, I've tried a few different commands in the terminal but it keeps saying that it can't find that directory. I attatched a screenshot of what I've tried. I'm trying to copy from the 231gb volume onto the external hard-drive named 'leo'. Am I missing something in the syntax?

8y6op1.png