Thoughts on Server upgrades

I have very limited knowledge when it comes to the possibilities with servers, so im hoping someone could offer some input.

I don?t work in IT, im an electrical engineer by day, who also seems to be tasked with looking after the IT.

We have head office with approx. 25 users, everyone has their own computer and we have two servers.

Server1 is running SBS2003, has exchange, sharepoint, makes all the backups and is the primary domain controller.

Server2 is simply a server with lots of storage and is used for all the network shares (I don?t want to call it a file server as I believe a file server is running the proprietary MS file server software?). The operating system on this is 2008.

We?ve just opened a remote office many miles away which could eventually house up to 10 people.

At the moment, the head office has 8mb down and 512mb up on the internet connection.

There?s only two people working there, who are currently using remote VPN (not a tunnel between routers) for file access and OWA for emails.

If the number of people increases, it?s been mentioned that another server may be beneficial down there.

As we?re a small company, we cannot afford to buy big expensive servers, virtualisation etc, its simply not affordable for us.

When the users use VPN, they find the internet incredibly slow (which is understandable), but I was wondering what common practise would be for remote offices etc.

We?re talking about possibly upgrading server1 to a new machine and purchasing it with SBS2011 (when available) which will include the new exchange etc.

Does anyone have any thoughts/comments towards remote offices, common setups etc?

My first suggestion would be to increase the bandwidth at the head office. You'll want to increase the upload speeds. Who is the ISP?

2 SBS servers can't exist as part of the same domain.