Sc*ew Ubuntu

jebus197

Did I say screw them? What I meant to say was f*ck them!!! They have gone and totally screwed up my desktop with their latest so called 'Unity' update. I was happy as Larry with 10.10, then I get a message about the new 11.04 update. Why the hell do I even want this 'unity' thing? My desktop already had a dock of it's own in the form of Cario dock, along with a lot of very neat desktop customisations, and now the new update has come along and screwed them all up. (Basically there's graphical gltiching and tearing everywhere!)

Ubuntu obviously don't give a crap for the thousands of people who do have their own desktop customisations. I've been using Ubuntu for seven years, and a bit like the battered wife who believes that THIS time it will work out and won't screw up, every damn time something does go wrong.

Before anyone comments yes I know you can disable Unity, but the latest upgrade has still shredded my compiz configuration making it almost impossible to unpick whatever the hell it is they have done. The only option it seems is a complete reinstall. So like I said, sc*ew them!!!

Geoffrey B.

you can just install Gnome and recustomize it yourself. if you are using linux you should be savvy enough to be able to do that.

Unix2

Why did you update? :blink: Common sense tells me that my own customization will not be there after a major update. :whistle:

Carbon Fiber

Bluh whiner, as littleneutrino says, you can install Gnome and recustomize it yourself

jebus197

Dude I'm in the middle of exams. It took months to get my desktop looking the way I wanted it... Don't make it sound 'oh so easy' when it isn't.

alexalex

You should have read reviews of 11.04 before updating.

+jamesyfx

Maybe you should have updated after your exam period, so you had time to re-do all of your customisations. It's been well known that Unity is a massive departure from previous versions of Ubuntu.. this kind of issue is expected.

• Like 1
Brian