Apple launch event: What to expect, and how to watch on Apple and Windows 10 devices

Today, Apple will hold its Fall launch event, at which the company will unveil some of its latest and greatest devices, along with a whole host of changes, additions and improvements on the software side of things.

Whether or not you're a fan of Apple, there's no denying the importance of its products. Those it unveils today will ultimately have an impact on the entire market, as buyers weigh these new product options against those already available, while Apple's rivals consider how best to compete with its latest offerings.

Today's event promises to be one of Apple's biggest launches ever - and below, we've summarized some of what to expect.

iOS 9

First shown off earlier this year, with beta releases following in recent months, the latest version of iOS introduces new multitasking features, new capabilities and deeper 'intelligence' for Siri, and many more improvements and additions.

iPhone 6s and 6s Plus

Since these are 's' releases, don't expect Apple to rock the boat too much when it comes to the exterior design of its new iPhones. But there should be plenty of improvements under the hood, including a much better camera with 4K video recording, faster processor, and pressure-sensitive '3D Touch' display.

iPad 'Pro'

A larger iPad has been rumored for quite some time, but with the new multitasking features in iOS 9, the software now seems to be ready to run on a more productivity-focused device. Recent reports have suggested that it may have a 12.9-inch display - a little larger than Microsoft's Surface Pro 3.

Apple TV

The long-awaited new version of Apple's multimedia box will finally make an appearance, getting a massive update over its predecessor. There'll be a faster processor and more onboard storage, and a slimmer design, along with a redesigned remote with integrated touchpad. Siri voice controls will be available too, as well as a new branch of the App Store, with an SDK for third-party developers expected soon.

watchOS 2

The new software update for the Apple Watch will expand the capabilities of the device further, including deeper developer access to the device's hardware features. New customization options will be available too.


The event is being held today in San Francisco, beginning at these times around the world:

  • 1000 PDT
  • 1300 EDT
  • 1700 GMT
  • 1800 BST
  • 1900 CEST
  • 2100 GST
  • 2230 IST
  • 0200 JST
  • 0300 AEST

As always, you'll be able to view the announcements by watching on your Apple device. However, you will also be able to watch live on Windows 10, via Microsoft's new Edge browser. (This isn't because Apple is feeling especially warm and loving towards Microsoft's OS, by the way - it's because Edge is the first desktop browser, other than Safari, to support Apple's HTTP Live Streaming technology.)

The event will be available via the Apple Events site - and if you've got a bit of time to kill before the announcement later, you can while away the hours there catching up on other recent Apple keynotes and product launches.

Report a problem with article
whatsapp
Next Article

WhatsApp beta updated, brings support for Windows 10 Mobile

facebook-windows-phone
Previous Article

Facebook bug-fixing app update rolled out for Windows Phone

68 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement