Earlier this year, Flickr received some bad press about a user's account that had been accidently deleted by Flickr support after Mirco Wilhelm, a German photographer, had reported another member for copyright infringement.
Now Flickr has announced that it has changed its policy on deleted accounts, saying that it will keep photos and associated content for 90 days.
This change will most likely ruffle the feathers of privacy activists, but Flickr says that all data will be kept private and secure, and this change of policy only exists to help users protect their photos, and gives them (and Flickr) the option to reverse the decision.
Flickr has also expanded on other areas of its policies regarding the data it keeps. Premium subscribers with expired subscriptions need not worry — Flickr will keep your photos on their servers indefinitely; it’s only account deletion that will affect whether or not Flickr will retain your data.
Flickr also backs your content up on multiple servers around the United States, and says that you retain all rights to your uploaded photos.
In February we asked, “Why isn’t Flickr backing up paid accounts?”.
It looks like Flickr listened.