In a blog post, Google has announced that iOS users will be getting an incognito mode for the Google Maps app, a feature made available to Android users in October. As per the announcement, the update is rolling out to iOS users today. Google says:
Incognito mode on iOS works the same way it does on Android. While in Incognito mode, the places you search for or navigate to won’t be saved to your Google Account and you won’t see personalized features within Maps, like restaurant recommendations based on dining spots you’ve been to previously. Using Incognito mode on your phone will not update your Location History, so the places you go won’t be saved to your Timeline.
Google will also be adding a bulk delete tool for its Android app, allowing users to delete multiple places from their timeline and location history all at once. Users may either delete all their location history or a selected part of their timeline by choosing a date range.
The bulk delete tool for the Android app will be rolling out next year. In the meantime, users may use the incognito mode if they want to temporarily stop Google Maps from logging their location history.