Google is focusing on personal safety with its latest software release. Its new Trusted Safety app allows users to easily send out their location to a specified group of contacts, while letting those contacts view and request information from them as well. These trusted groups are user-defined and can be changed at any time.
Minh Nguyen, a software engineer at Google, explains in a blog post, "you can assign “trusted” status to your closest friends and family. Your trusted contacts will be able to see your activity status — whether you’ve moved around recently and are online — to quickly know if you're OK."
These contacts can send requests for a person's location which can be ignored by the intended person if there is no reason for alarm. In emergency situations, a response is automatically sent out after five minutes of no activity.
Google says this app works offline and will transmit a person's last reported location in that case. Another feature allows users to have someone "virtually" walk them home, by sharing their path as they travel from one location to another.
Source: Google Blog