It's official: The OnePlus 5 will be unveiled on June 20

Last month, OnePlus issued a "last call to buy" its 3T smartphone, warning that it was running out of stock with no plans to bring in more. The reason for that was simple: the company is preparing to launch its next-generation flagship-class handset.

Today, it revealed that the OnePlus 5 will be unveiled at a launch event on June 20, at the following times:

  • 9am PDT
  • 12pm EDT
  • 4pm GMT
  • 5pm BST
  • 6pm CEST
  • 9:30pm IST
  • 2am AEST (June 21)

The teaser image on the OnePlus launch site includes the caption "focus on what matters", hinting at an improved imaging experience on the device. Recent leaks have indicated that the OnePlus 5 will have dual rear cameras.

OnePlus CEO Pete Lau confirmed in May that the 5 will use Qualcomm's latest Snapdragon 835 system-on-a-chip, and will feature improved touch latency, following complaints about touchscreen lag issues on the OnePlus 3 and 3T, which the company took several months to resolve. Lau also said that the 5 will be "the thinnest flagship phone", and an official teaser image this week appeared to show that its overall size will be smaller than the 3T.

If you're wondering what happened to the OnePlus 4, by the way, the company's decision to skip over that name was the result of tetraphobia, the common belief in many east Asian countries that the number four is unlucky.

Report a problem with article
1496770512_template
Next Article

GOG kicks off the Adventurous Summer Sale with over 1500 games discounted by up to 90%

screen_shot_2014-09-15_at_11.01.10_am
Previous Article

Apple helped UK law enforcement investigate terrorist attacks

2 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement