Next World of Warcraft expansion Cataclysm announced

After several weeks of rumors, the new World of Warcraft expansion, titled Cataclysm has been announced at this year's Blizzcon. At the conference several details were described but there is still no estimated release date other than the ambiguous 2010.

Two new races have been announced for each faction. Joining the Horde are the Goblins, from Kezan, who are now at war with the Alliance. The Alliance are now allied with the Worgen, cursed citizens of Gilneas in the Eastern Kingdoms. The last time new races were added to WoW was in 2007, when Dranei and Blood Elves were added with The Burning Crusade.

Other changes include a raised level cap, from 80 to 85, and an entirely redone Azeroth at war with Deathwing and in the middle of the Cataclysm. Several zones have changed factions and those with appropriate rank can now use flying mounts in Azeroth.

Cataclysm marks the third expansion to the World of Warcraft, the most popular Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game online with over 11.5 million players. For more information on Cataclysm, the new races and to view the first trailer check out the official Cataclysm page.

Report a problem with article
Next Article

OpenOffice 3.1.1 RC2

Previous Article

WinSCP 4.2.3 beta

12 Comments - Add comment