The NHS COVID-19 contact tracing app has received an update to give users clarity about a scary message that appears regarding COVID-19 exposure but vanishes with no explanation when pressed. When users go into the app after pressing the notification, they will now be told that they can ignore the warning if certain conditions are not met.
With the app launching in the last week of September, millions of people have found time to install the app so they can be asked to self-isolate if they come into contact with someone who tested positive for COVID-19. With the increased use, people began receiving a notification that read “Possible COVID-19 exposure: Someone you were near reported having COVID-19. Exposure date, duration and signal strength have been saved.” The message would disappear when pressed and no more information would be provided in the app unless you were in contact with the person for 15 minutes at a distance of two metres.
In the new update, users that click the notification will receive another message if they don’t meet the requirements to self-isolate saying: “COVID-19 Exposure Check Complete. Don’t worry, we have assessed your risk and there is no need to take action at this time. Please continue to stay alert and follow the latest advice on social distancing.”
According to the BBC, the team behind the app is working on a big update for the app which will switch to a newer version of the Apple-Google framework which could stop the “Possible COVID-19 exposure” notifications altogether and cut down on the confusion. It’s reported that the framework update will also improve the way Bluetooth is used to measure the distance between two phones.
Source: BBC News