No way out: Microsoft is now making it even more difficult to block Windows 10 upgrades [Update]

Update: A Microsoft spokesperson has stated that the information published by The Register, upon which this article was based, is "inaccurate".

You can read that statement at the end of this article. The original article follows:


Microsoft has been facing growing criticism over the methods it has been using to encourage owners of older Windows 7 and 8.1 PCs to install Windows 10 before its offer of a free upgrade expires on July 29. Despite this, it appears the company is not only refusing to back down, but actually becoming even more forceful in its efforts.

Initially, after Windows 10 launched last July, Microsoft allowed users of these older devices to opt in to the upgrade at their leisure. But over time, it's become more aggressive in its approach, as this brief timeline indicates:

Now, as The Register reports, Microsoft has begun tweaking its upgrade process yet again, to make it even more difficult to opt out of Windows 10 installation for those on older devices.

No X-it: Microsoft gives users the choice to upgrade now or later, with no way to close the window

As the screenshot above shows, a new version of Microsoft's upgrade tool no longer offers the option of cancelling installation entirely. Instead, users are presented only with the choice of setting a date and time - being able to defer the Windows 10 installation by no more than a few days - or "start the upgrade now". The 'schedule your upgrade' window has no red X to allow users to close it, forcing them to pick one of those two options.

Speaking with The Register, a Microsoft representative did not comment on the latest revisions, saying only that the "your upgrade is scheduled" notification has been around "for months".

According to Microsoft, Windows 10 is now installed on over 300 million devices around the world. But given the company's increasingly pushy approach to getting users to upgrade to its latest OS, one can't help wondering how many of those users actually decided that they wanted to upgrade, and how many believed they had no choice but to do so.

Source: The Register via Mary Jo Foley (All About Microsoft) | Lower image via The Register

Update: Mary Jo Foley has posted an update to her article stating that this may have been a false alarm. It would appear that this screen only appears if a user has already accepted the update and agreed to the EULA. Still, it's not much better that once you've explicitly agreed to the update, you don't have the right to change you mind.

In other words, if you agree to the Windows 10 update, be sure that you really want it first.

Update 2: A Microsoft spokesperson has provided the following statement to Neowin, making it clear that the information in The Register's report was wrong:

The Register report is inaccurate. The Windows 10 upgrade is a choice -- designed to help people take advantage of the most secure, and most productive Windows. People receive multiple notifications to accept the upgrade, and can reschedule or cancel the upgrade if they wish.

Report a problem with article
img_1319
Next Article

HP unveils new videos to show off its Windows 10 Mobile device, the Elite x3

appleeventlogo
Previous Article

Apple crumble: Significant outage brings down many of the company's services

96 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement