OnePlus 3 to launch around the world on June 14 - and the invite system is officially dead

Image via @evleaks

OnePlus has confirmed that its next flagship-class handset will launch this month, and in a welcome development for those thinking of buying one, the company has announced the end of its unloved 'invite system'.

For the launch of its previous devices, OnePlus has required users to first get an invite in order to make a purchase. Using invites allowed the company to manage its stock more efficiently than an open sales system, but it proved frustrating for many potential customers, who would have to take part in contests, engage in social media activities promoting OnePlus, or ask friends to give them an invite, just to be able to buy one of its phones.

Now, that's all changing, as OnePlus co-founder Carl Pei, explained today:

We’re releasing the OnePlus 3 invite-free, right from launch day. In addition, invites are gone forever from future OnePlus product launches.

As previously revealed, OnePlus will be unveiling its new device via 'The Loop', a new virtual reality experience from the company. Today, it announced that the launch event will be held on June 14, at the following times:

  • 12.30 PM EDT (New York)
  • 9.30 AM PDT (San Francisco)
  • 4.30 PM UTC/GMT
  • 5.30 PM BST (London)
  • 6.30 PM CEST (Paris)
  • 10.00 PM IST(Bengaluru)

Additionally, the first two hours of OnePlus 3 sales will be exclusively available in The Loop, which OnePlus says will make it "the world's first global VR shopping experience". Open sales will then begin at 3:00PM EDT.

Recent rumors indicate that the OnePlus 3 will have a 5.5-inch Full HD AMOLED screen, 13MP rear camera, 64GB of storage and a Snapdragon 820 processor.

Source: OnePlus

Report a problem with article
Next Article

Apple might finally be releasing new Thunderbolt displays

Previous Article

QNAP TS-451+ Review: The do-everything NAS device

13 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement