Sega announces Dreamcast Collection for Xbox 360, PC

Sega has announced their plans to release a collection of Dreamcast games for the Xbox 360 and PC later this year. Fans of the ill-fated system will be able to play Sonic Adventure, Crazy Taxi, Sega Bass Fishing and Space Channel 5: Part 2 from this February. Unfortunately, all of the games are either already available or due to be released through the Xbox Live Arcade service, so the offering here is not exactly new to gamers, but the chance to be able to own the games in a physical disc format is sure to appeal to the anti-digital crowd.

The releases include enhanced graphics, achievements, and leaderboards, the latter two already being a requirement of Xbox Live Arcade titles. Playstation 3 owners need not suffer, as the announced titles are already available on the Playstation Network (with the exception of Space Channel 5: Part 2 and Sega Bass Fishing, which will see a simultaneous release with their Xbox Live Arcade counterparts)

Announced for a release date of February 25th in Europe and the 22nd in North America, the price is yet to be announced, though a former GameStop listing would have us believe it will cost around $30, which makes the collection cheaper than buying the four games separately. How well the collection will do is anyone's guess, but the already-released titles have received rather average reviews, with the Xbox 360 version of Sonic Adventure scoring 48 on Metacritic and Crazy Taxi scoring 60.

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

Airbnb grew an astonishing 800% last year, in "for the long run"

Next Story

Man uses Facebook to break into email accounts, send nude photos of victims

63 Comments - Add comment